Surviving General Admission – Ed Sheeran’s Multiply Tour

On the 4th of April I was lucky enough to attend Ed Sheeran’s Multiply Tour. But it wasn’t so easy…

Ed is such a lad and prices all his tickets at around $100 AUD no matter where it’s seated or if you’re in the moshpit. Usually, other artists sell front row packages for up to $500 AUD! Although Ed Sheeran tickets were being sold at a low price, it meant there would be a lot of competition to get to the front. Thus, this is how my day went, along with how to have the best general admission experience!

Credits to Perth Arena
Credits to Perth Arena

STEP 1: PACK EVERYTHING THE NIGHT BEFORE

The night before the concert, I packed everything so I could go first thing in the morning without having to stress. The essentials are of course:

  • Money– for food and merchandise. At concert venues, they can get pricey.
  • Ticket– for entrance! Some people forget…
  • Extra clothes– depending on the weather, this could be a rain jacket or a warm sweater. You’re going to be in line for a while..
  • Comfort items– a camping chair or picnic rug? Maybe even pillows to make yourself at home.
  • Food– since it is expensive at the venue and moving in and out of line can get hectic, it’s wise to stock up beforehand.
  • Phone/Camera– to capture the moments!
  • Power bank– your phone will not last all day. Guaranteed.
  • Water– it’s so important to stay hydrated for an event involving hundreds of people around you, especially when you’re in the mosh.
  • Anything to keep you entertained!– a whole day in line anticipating a concert can feel lengthy.

STEP 2: ARRIVE TO THE VENUE EARLY

I arrived at Perth Arena at 7am in the morning! If you want to be up close and have a good spot in the mosh pit, you’ll have to come super early. I knew some people would camp out from the night before, so I wasn’t expecting to be first in line. My friends and I ended up being behind 53 people- not bad I guess. I actually found out the girls who got front and centre had stayed in line since two nights ago… Basically there will be hardcore fans who are willing to camp out a couple days just to score the best spot! Being in the front row means you won’t be nearly as affected by the pushing and shoving in the mosh pit.

STEP 3: COME PREPARED 

This brings me back to Step 1! There were five rows of barricades to line us up in order; All full by noon. Employees made us bunch up and save space three times, so we had to pack up all out stuff. Others had to go through the struggle of unpacking tents and rolling up sleeping bags! People in line were generally friendly though; Music was played, food was shared and friendships were made.

My spot in line by noon.
My spot in line by noon.

Since I knew I’d be there for a good 13 hours, I came prepared. I brought materials to make a huge poster in hopes that Ed might notice them. I knew he posted a photo of each crowd and posted them every concert night on Instagram, so I thought I would make a poster simply to be featured on his page, so it said:

'Hello Instagram!'

On the other side were the words ‘BIRTH PLACE OF “ONE”‘. Quite a few people in line asked me what exactly that meant, and so I explained that Ed actually wrote the song ‘One’ back in 2011 in Perth! Not many people know that, and it’s something I love saying because of all 70 songs he wrote for this album, the first one that made it was the one written right here!

My signs took up most of the day, since I did a load of measuring and I was being a perfectionist with it- I literally had nothing better to do haha. Other than that, my friends and I took turns to get food and look at the merchandise.

STEP 4: GET IN THE VIBE

When it comes to a few hours before the concert, play some of the songs of the artist! Playing them from 7am isn’t ideal and will annoy everyone, but having sing-alongs to get into the vibe is always appreciated. Buy some merchandise! Get pumped, because that $100 ticket isn’t just for 2 hours of entertainment, it’s for a good time. The journey is more important than the destination 😉

STEP 5: GET RID OF EVERYTHING UNNECESSARY

When its about half an hour before doors open, I suggest getting rid of everything you don’t NEED. Entering a moshpit literally means you’ll be squashed for the next couple of hours, so you don’t want your new concert programme in your backpack. I packed everything and put them in the car so by the time I was in the arena, I only had 4 things: my ticket, poster, phone and camera. No extra baggage means nothing else to worry about when theres hundreds of people potentially mugging you!

STEP 6: STAND YOUR GROUND

Prepare yourself. There are going to be fans everywhere trying to get to the front. Which makes no sense, if they really were dedicated they would have lined up as early as you. Nevertheless, there will always be girls pushing and acting like it’s not them… Don’t be afraid to yell at them. During the opening acts, (in my case Conrad Sewell and Jamie Lawson) people took it as an opportunity to push and shove even more. Those two hours were basically me holding onto my dear life! Unfortunately, not everyone can handle the stress of a moshpit and have to be taken out. The terrible thing is that every time somebody was taken out of the crowd by security, people would take THAT as another opportunity to get to the front. Thankfully, there’s going to be nice girls who will help you out as well. A nice girl saw that I was struggling to stand straight in my spot so she offered me a spot in front of her! As a result of the 3945783 girls pushing me, I ended up getting closer to Ed!

STEP 7: ENJOY THE SHOW

Finally, I made it! Waiting the whole day can get tough, but seeing Ed Sheeran in the flesh a mere 3 metres away from me, made worth every second. I have a bad habit of recording almost the entire concert, so this time I made an effort of just taking in the scene and enjoying it instead of watching through my phone. I’d have to say this concert easily makes it way to my Top 3 concerts I’ve ever attended!

Ed's Instagram (unfortunately my poster didn't last long in that crowd!)
Ed’s Instagram (unfortunately my poster didn’t last long in that crowd!)

– Evelyn 🙂

2 thoughts on “Surviving General Admission – Ed Sheeran’s Multiply Tour

  1. Hey! I’m going to ed sheeran in Melbourne in a couple of weeks and I’m thinking of camping out to get a good spot in the crowd. I’m going on my own though.. Was just wondering if you took someone with you to help save your spot in line for bathroom breaks and to put things in your car??

    Like

    1. Sorry for such a late reply! I hope you ad a good time 🙂 Having people to save your spot in line for small things is fine but if you’re gone for a really long time it’s frowned upon (especially in Perth).

      Like

Leave a Reply

